The mission of MMASC is “Developing People, Developing Communities”

by providing practical learning experiences, opportunities for leadership and guidelines for professional practice. Reflective of this mission, MMASC recognizes individuals and organizations that strive to promote responsive government and create opportunities for those who are the future leaders of the public sector.

Annually, MMASC presents a total of five awards, with nominations from four solicited from the membership. The President's Award recipient is selected by the MMASC President. Submitted nominations are reviewed by the Awards Committee and are selected by majority vote.

Nomination for the 2023 MMASC Awards are now closed.

The 2023 Award winners will be announced at the 2023 Annual Conference. 

See current and past year's award winners by clicking on the award name below.

J. Michael Dutton Summit Award

Presented to a member of the MMASC Executive Board or a Regional Boardmember who has made a significant and/or sustained contribution to MMASC. The Award is named after J. Michael Dutton who was an active member of the organization, an innovator and leader of public sector programs. He mentored many and promoted MMASC as a key component of professional development, before his untimely death in 1984 at the age of 36.

Organizational Excellence Award

Presented to a public agency whose accomplishments have significantly contributed to the advancement of local government service or otherwise improved the quality of community service provided.

Excellence in Government Award

Presented to a MMASC member who has made a significant contribution to the public service profession or advanced the success of others by affording professional development opportunities, with an emphasis placed on a singular significant accomplishment.

Stewardship Award

Presented to a MMASC member, chief executive officer, director, member of the academic community, MMASC supporter, or outside professional development program manager that has shown a significant and sustained contribution toward furthering the success of others by affording professional development opportunities.

President’s Award

Presented to a Chief Executive Officer or Principal Assistant that has made an outstanding and/ or sustained contribution to the public sector and has supported the mission of MMASC by creating opportunities to further the development of individuals advancing within the public sector.